MIPA Partcipating Centres


34 centres have been chosen to participate in the MIPA study based on their experience in breast cancer care, preoperative breast MRI, second look sonography, US- and MR-guided procedures, and their capacity to recruit sufficient patients to meet the required study sample size for both the MRI group and no-MRI group. Further, the experience of the local investigators in participating in breast cancer multicentre studies and their scientific CVs were also considered.

List of participating centres (listed alphabetically by country)

Royal Perth Hospital (Perth)
Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital (Perth)

Medical University of Graz (Graz)
Medical University of Vienna (Vienna)

Antwerp University Hospital (Antwerp)

Sociedade Beneficente De Senhoras Hospital Sirio Libanes (São Paulo)
The Brazilian National Cancer Institute (Rio de Janeiro)

Institut Curie (Paris)
Institut de cancérologie Gustave-Roussy (Villejuif)

Heidelberg University Hospital (Heidelberg)
Radiologic Institute University Erlangen (Erlangen)
University Hospital Müenster (Müenster)
University Hospital Tübingen (Tübingen)

Central Military Hospital (Budapest)

Beaumont Hospital (Dublin)

Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria di Modena (Modena)
Azienda Ospedaliero-Universitaria Santa Maria della Misericordia (Udine)
Fondazione IRCCS Istituto Nazionale dei Tumori (Milan)
Institute for Cancer Research and Treatment (Candiolo)
IRCCS Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria San Martino – Istituto Nazionale per la Ricerca sul Cancro (Genoa)
IRCCS Ospedale San Raffaele (Milan)
Ospedale Universitario Riuniti (Ancona)
Policlinico “Paolo Giaccone” – Azienda Ospedaliera Universitaria (Palermo)
Policlinico Universitario Tor Vergata (Rome)
Sapienza University of Rome (Rome)

The Netherlands
Erasmus Medical Center – University Hospital Rotterdam (Rotterdam)
Maastricht University Medicai Center (Maastricht)
Maatschap Radiologie Oost-Nederland (Almelo/Enschede)
Radboud University Nijmegen Medical Centre (Nijmegen)

Hospital de la Ribera (Alzira)
Hospital Universitario Reina Sofia (Cordoba)

Acibadem University School of Medicine (Istanbul)

United Kingdom
University of Cambridge – Addenbrooke’s Hospital (Cambridge)

United States
The Breast Center of Northwest Arkansas (Fayetteville)