Scientitific Advisory Board

Acting as a Steering Committee and representing a variety of disciplines in imaging research, the Scientific Advisory Board is the scientific operational body of EIBIR, responsible for defining EIBIR’s long-term scientific strategies and offering research-related advice to members. The Board advises the EIBIR Team in all scientific matters and plays a key role in the implementation of EU-funded projects. They are requested to declare a project worthy to be co-ordinated by EIBIR before its onset.

The members of the Scientific Advisory Board are appointed by a Shareholders’ resolution by simple majority, and they also decide on the duration of the appointment. One or more re-elections are possible. To be appointed to the Scientific Advisory Board representatives must have a science and research background with specific experience in the field of biomedical imaging.


Professor Gabriel Krestin

EIBIR’s Scientific Director, leads the Scientific Advisory Board.

Email Professor Krestin

or phone +31-107-035987





Shareholder Representatives
Philippe Pereira (CIRSE)
Casper Garos (COCIR)
Kristoff Muylle (EANM)
Marco Brambilla (EFOMP)
Jonathan McNulty (EFRS)
Yan Liu (EORTC)
Matthias Günther (ESMRMB)
Owen Arthurs (ESPR)
Olivier Clément (ESR)
Vincenzo Valentini (ESTRO)
Angel Alberich Bayarri (EuSoMII)

Joint Initiative Directors
Silvio Aime (Chemistry Platform)
Christoph Hoeschen (EURAMED)
Michal Neeman (Cell Imaging Network)
Wiro Niessen (Biomedical Image Analysis Platform)
Francesco Sardanelli (EuroAIM)
Karen Rosendahl (Paediatric Radiology)
Nandita de Souza (European Imaging Biomarker Alliance)
Vincenzo Valentini (Image Guided Radiotherapy)

Regular Members
Henryk Barthel
Vincent Dousset
Alejandro Frangi
Xavier Golay
Horst Hahn
Myriam Hunink
Hans-Ulrich Kauczor
Georg Langs
Luis Marti-Bonmati
Celso Matos
Konstantin Nikolaou
Anders Persson
Antonio Pifferi
Katrine Riklund
Andrea Rockall
Steven Sourbron
Oliver Speck